eternally upgrading

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal…'”~ Martin Luther King, Jr

The warm sun casts shadows on the tile floor through the windows; the sunflowers opening wide in their vase.  Boys sleep soundly upstairs and the house is quiet.   I sit before the bright monitor, coffee in hand, and re-read Martin Luther King Jr’s complete written speech, spoken almost fifty years ago.  I’m sure it is buzzing in D.C. amongst the inauguration festivities.  Fifty years.  Wow!

I can barely keep up with all the technological progress within a year.  Organizing my office and computer I’ve had to upgrade so many things.  It’s so instantaneous!  I query the oracle (aka Google) and with clicks of the button, Poof!  I have upgrades, purchases, communication.  Fifty years ago we were still emancipating people of color after hundreds of years.  It’s mind-boggling.

I can wax on about computers, gaming consoles and TV’s addictive qualities.   When I first dated my, soon-to-be, husband I felt his attention was on the computer, first, and me, second.  It’s easier to communicate with a machine versus working on a live relationship.  C’mon!  How could Manti T’e’o have an online girlfriend and be duped!?  I mean, really?  And this guy is a public, college football player!  I can’t help but wonder if MLK was alive today; if his outreach would’ve been different.  Are there leaders today that can create such a vast movement?  Sadly, the first thought that popped in my mind was Al-Qaeda.

My computer and I have been bonding, as of late, and it is the latest thing that needs to be maintained in our household.  I’m grateful to be married to my computer scientist because, truly, I am just a user.  I have no idea or desire to figure out how the darn machine works.  I just want it to work to complete my projects.  I groan when he starts to show me, yet, another new program.  I am a creature of habit.  Do I really need to learn another digital publishing program?  I have Adobe Photoshop, XmView, MS Publisher, Gimp, Inkscape, FotoFusion.  Why do I need Windows 8?  Why do things always have to evolve? 

And then there’s social media.  I remember starting out with My Space and transitioning to Facebook.  I’m staying away from Twitter.  Yesterday most of my brain cells got lost on Pinterest and Shutterfly and by the time I got up from my computer chair; it was dark outside!  This scares me.    Our goal was supposed to be upgrading computers and cleaning up our yard for Spring planting.  How did I lose an entire day, just like that?

yelpwordpress logowindowspinterestinstagramapple logogoodreads logo

facebookgoogle

I guess, if things didn’t progress MLK’s dream would never have been realized;  nor Bill Gates’, Mark Zuckerberg’s, Steve Wosniak & Steve Jobs’, Ben Silbermann’s, etc. etc.  I am grateful to be a citizen of the “land of the free.”  I have the freedom to choose what to do with: my day, my faith, my life.

Today my goal is to do something physical; something tactile.   One gratitude gift is the memory of what Martin Luther King, Jr. did for our country.  Time to find two more (one in the sky & one in water).  Off I go….

Leave a Reply

